Campsite Finder Online
Campsite Finder Online
Holidays in Europe
Holidays in the UK

Hidden Valley Park, Ilfracombe, Devon (North), England

Hidden Valley Park
West Down
Ilfracombe
Devon
EX34 8NU
England
Email
Website
Opening Times
Open All Year
Pitches
120
Map Coordinates
Latitude 51.14678°, Longitude -4.14568°
My Favourites
  • Details
  • Facilities
  • Photos (8)
  • Reviews (40)
  • Video
  • Map
  • Awards

Details

Hidden Valley is a family run touring park in a beautiful wooded valley, and has gained the Gold David Bellamy Conservation Award, 5 Stars by Visit England, and in 2011 the AA 5 pennants. In 2009/2010 Hidden Valley won Holiday Park of the Year.

There are 120 level pitches, 60 of which are all-weather hard standing and 60 grass.

Overlooking the gardens and lake is a licensed shop and a delightful coffee-shop serving full English Breakfasts & Cream Teas - perfect after a forest walk!

Hidden Valley is set among rolling hills of stunning Devon countryside. Just 4 miles away are some of the country’s most prestigious beaches, including the golden sandy beach at Woolacombe, and The Tunnels Beaches in Ilfracombe, both of which are Blue Flag and Quality Coast Award winners.

The fabulous surfing beach at Croyde Bay is just 5 miles away, while Saunton Sands is just 6 miles, and is a wonderful beach for a day out with the family.

For those that want to relax, the National Trust’s Arlington Court and RHS Gardens Rosemoor are both wonderful to visit.
There are also many family attractions close by, including the Big Sheep, which is a wonderful all weather attraction, the Dinosaur Adventure park and Exmoor Zoo.

Quaint harbour towns adorn the North Devon coast line, and are a lovely place for afternoon tea, fish & chips or an ice cream. Lynton is one such town, built mainly by the Victorians and is connected to Lynmouth via a water-powered funicular railway. Ilfracombe with its picturesque harbour is home to, among others, HMS Oldenburg, which sails to Lundy Island several times a week.

Facilities

Unit Type

  • Motorhomes
  • Tent
  • Trailer Tents

Pitch Type

  • Electric Hook Up
  • Grass & Hard Standing
  • Hard Standing
  • Parking next to pitch
  • Seasonal Pitches
  • Super Service Pitches

Holiday Park

  • Best Of British

Awards | Star Rating

  • David Bellamy Conservation Awards - Gold

Hidden Valley Park Photos

Click a photo to view full size. Then click > and < to step through and X to close.

Official Photos

Hidden Valley Park Touring at Hidden Valley Hidden Valley Park Hidden Valley Park Hidden Valley Park Hidden Valley Park Hidden Valley Park Hidden Valley Park

Visitor Photos

No visitors have uploaded photos of Hidden Valley Park yet. If you have stayed here please add some photos to share with other potential visitors.

Add Your Photos

Have you stayed at Hidden Valley Park?

If so please add some photos to share with other potential holidaymakers.

40 Reviews

Average rating 4.6 out of 5

All comments in these reviews are the opinions of the individual reviewers and not of Campsite Finder Online, unless marked as a "Campsite Finder Online" review.

carole (May 18th, 2014)

rateraterateraterate

My friend and I have just completed a week at Hidden Valley Park.

We had a lovely relaxing time in lovely surroundings and countryside.

Every one was very friendly .

the shower block was extremely clean and warm.

The site was kept very nice and tidy with plenty of staff to answer any queries you may have if any.With the belief that a new Restaurant is about to open May holiday , which will be very useful for the occasional meal.

We would most certainly will return .

Mark Holker (April 11th, 2014)

rateraterateraterate

Although a newcomer to owning a campervan, I am a regular visitor to the Hidden Valley, as my son and daughter-in-law and grandchildren live in nearby Braunton in North Devon. The Hidden Valley is aptly named for although it is situated conveniently close to the A361 Braunton to Ilfracombe road, it is shielded by trees which minimises any traffic noise. In fact, from most of the site, you would not realise you were a five minute walk from a main road, and the bus stop to Ilfracombe and to Barnstaple. These services run every 20 minutes.



The site itself, which is open all the year, has 50 generously spaced all weather pitches; essential for winter camping, also grass pitches and a 5 acre grassed area for tented camping. All are connected by paved lanes. The river Caen flows through part of the site, and this together with the surrounding woods give the site a delightful rural feeling. In my experience, you can tell the quality or a pub or restaurant or a campsite by the state of the toilets. At the Hidden Valley, these facilities are always immaculate. The Legg family who own and run the site obviously have a personal interesting in maintaining high standards, and they are always most helpful and welcoming to campers of all ages and pets. I would give the Hidden Valley full marks under every heading.



Mark Holker.

lyn (October 4th, 2013)

rateraterateraterate

excellent park, exstremly friendly and helpful people nothing is too much trouble, exstreamly clean toilets and showers,realy nice grounds with dog walks and a stream that runs through the park that is very relaxing and there are ducks that wonder the park that are a delight to watch as they waddle pass your caravan. they have a well stocked shop that cover basic needs and a tea room if you fancy a crean tea, we have now been here twice and have booked to come back in 2014 all i can say is excellent keep up the good work!!!!!

K Thompson (August 15th, 2013)

rateraterate

The first impressions of the site are very good,we had booked a premium pitch which was wide and spacious although the car parking was difficult.As we are both disabled we had to take the car as the only toilet block on that end of the site was too far away when we got there no parking facilities are available in fact there is a no parking sign. The grounds round the lake could have been better maintained

Justine de Nicolas (August 15th, 2013)

rateraterate

We camped in our tent, the pitches are quite large on premier sites, however the road is extremely loud and constantly noisy and the showers desperately need updating as the showers went from hot to scoulding hot to freezing cold, the family room shower didn't work at all, and there were dead spiders, cobwebs and daddy long legs throughout the camping shower rooms. Beautifully located with in need of updating on showers and children's park. Good location for exploring Devon

Andrew Wood (August 15th, 2013)

rateraterateraterate

Had a great stay and hope to return next year for longer.One small criticism - all the waste bins in our field were overflowing when we arrived and were not emptied during our stay.Everything else was excellent.

philip garrett (July 17th, 2013)

rateraterateraterate

only stayed here for 3 days to do some geocaching and try out our new tent. we had seen this campsite on line and after reading a few reviews decided to stay here. on arrival we found a wonderful campsite with beautiful surroundings, the staff were very friendly and helpful . everyday we bumped into members of staff and they always asked how we were and if we needed anything. from what we saw of the way the place was run it obvious that it well maintained and we will be visiting again and will be staying a lot longer next time. will be recommending this campsite to all my friends and family. a must visit for anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

gailnmalc (May 16th, 2013)

rateraterateraterate

We recently decided to store our caravan at Hidden Valley and we made the right decision. Hidden Valley is ideally situated for exploring North Devon. The site is very well maintained and the shower blocks are spotlessly clean. The Owners and Wardens are extremely helpful and very friendly and the ducks are quackers. We have spent 7 long weekends here this year already and look forward to many more. Competitive prices for such a high quality site. Highly recommended 10/10

wayne cox (September 2nd, 2012)

raterateraterate

just come back after spending 5 nights over the august bank holiday 5 caravans in total,very nice site despite the bad weather the wardens on our level ( top level by the shower block ) were very friendly and helpful and would always chat on their way past while doing their jobs around the park the one downside was the very poor wifi which cost £12 which at times would not work and was so slow i gave up and after several calls to the server and complaining in reception this did not get resolved

Jonathan Hale (August 12th, 2012)

raterateraterate

We booked Hidden Valley early this year based on Best of British membership. We looked forward to our 'Premier paved fully serviced pitch'.

Initial views - staff very friendly and excellent wardens. Potholes were fixed as we were there (as they were really bad!).

Disappointed at the tiny pitch we were given especially given the way it was described. The back of the pitch fell away into the stream (a worry for our youngest) and the car needed parking in front of the van (not an ideal view). My view is there were probably 2 or 3 too many pitches squeezed into the space making it very cramped (a small strip of grass at the side with a bench (about 4 ft wide only) then next doors pitch.

That said, that was probably our only critique, the cafe was nice enough and the grounds and playground fine - we didnt find any issue with noise of traffic unlike others so dont be put off.

I would go again but would try and insist on pre booking a pitch - if we hadnt got a mover we would have been stuck!).

Facilities clean and tidy, site well kept, good wardens.

john and judy wickham (August 8th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

we had1 week at hidden valley, the weather was not good but we still had a nice time. the site was very good and the staff were excellence

john t. (August 4th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

12th to 19th July 2012 Trailer Tent Pitch Ash One. We arrived in pouring rain, the lady warden could not have been more helpfull, escorted us to our pitch and gave us all the information on the site, even asked if we needed a hand. We found the site suited us very well, we are O.A.Ps., it is an excellent position for touring that part of Devon, with super Beaches at Woolcombe and Braunton both about 5 miles away and the Worlds BEST Fish and Chip Restaurant "Squires" at Braunton. We were both of the opinion that our grandchildren would "Love-it". We found the facilities (showers & toilets) excellent, clean plenty of hot water, we never had to wait to use anything. the little shop had a good selection of all the basics and the Cafe offered good value. Yes there was a bit of noise from the road, but we live in the countryside and tend to notice it a bit more than others might, the sound of the little stream more than made up for it. Potholes, yes there are some, we pay a lot of money to drive over roads in Oxfordshire that are nearly as bad! Yes we just can't wait to get back there, I am thinking Sept, if the weather is dry it will be lovely if it is'nt well we will make the best of it.

Colin London (August 4th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

The best site we have stayed at, wonderful location friendly staff and very good facilities. If you want peace and quiet and wonderful surroundings Hidden Valley is for you.

Barry Pladdys (August 3rd, 2012)

rateraterate

Only two nights with our motorhome - perhaps why we were 'allocated' a pretty tatty pitch (11). Access roads leave a bit to be desired but not the worst place we have been but nowhere near the best either.

Paul (July 16th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

A mixed bag of weather didn't spoil the visit to Hidden Valley park. The staff are excellent and most helpful. Shower facilities were ideal and always very clean. The pitch we had was Ash 1 and was ideal for our 2 berth caravan. There was some noise from the A361 but it did not intrude into our caravan so we hardly noticed it. A good location in North Devon with plenty of scope for daily visits. Try Exmoor for great views inland and also Minehead and the coast back to Ilfracombe for seaviews. We thought Dunster Castle and village was superb as was the Coach Museum in Arlington Court both a must for National Trust members. Hidden Valley suits the quiet life as there are no evening bar facilities on site at night. Dogs allowed but didn't cause us any concern as we're not animal owners. All in all great value for money

Brian Fuller (July 5th, 2012)

raterateraterate

Very nice site Very nice staff very clean BUT DISMAYED AT THE POTHOLES

Barry Green (July 5th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

fantastic fantastic fantastic,

Just had a great holiday with the legg family and team, nothing was to much trouble, hot power showers, 18 days 3days sunshine rain the rest but a great site all in a wooded valley, nothing was to much trouble, had problems with the van david was reccomended and came out next day and cheap YES we booked again for next year and cant wait

barry green (July 4th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

fantastic nothing to much trouble from two days before we arrived till the day after we left. we have already booked a return for next year. Caravan repairs ask reception for davids card cheap reliable, helpful nothing to much trouble, the park clean hot power showers all in an ideal wooded valley, The whole team from boss to the wardens to the cleaners all helpful cant wait to return thankyou

ALVAN SPICER (June 26th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

very helpfull staff very clean site and the showers had under floor heating would recomend this site I will visit again

Mitchell (June 26th, 2012)

raterate

Staff very friendly and made us feel welcome. However, the site needs tidying up as many of the pitches were scruffy in appearance, the old toilet facilities had only been partly removed leaving exposed pipes and half built wooden structures. The road around the caravan park needs resurfacing. There is some road noise from the A361 but the valley location on the whole, is good.

Helen Dalton (June 6th, 2012)

raterateraterate

Setting brilliant, birdlife amazing. Because I'm very picky I should add that after a week of rain the motorhome grey waste point was too flooded to use and that its design might be reconsidered.

g,gibbons (June 6th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

very good & clean site helpful group allround

John Todd (June 6th, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

We stayed there over the weekend of the Royal celebrations. What a lovelly place. Toilet block was spotless, the site kept spotless and everyone very friendly and helpful. The settings are second to none with a wonderful wood for walking the dog through in a morning. The only fault if you could call it a fault is that it is 5 miles from the coast, and a car drive to the local pub for a drink, but having said that we will be going back again and have told a number of our friends to give it a try. Easy to find, and the size of the pitches are bigger than any site we have visited in the past because of this a score of 10 out of 10 from my wife and myself.

orchard family (May 2nd, 2012)

rateraterateraterate

really nice camp site pleanty of room good walks friendly staff would return again

Mrs Patricia Jones (October 19th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

A lovely relaxing site with good facilities and lovely dog walks in the woods.

Mrs Joy Ward (October 12th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

If you like a well run, friendly, clean, peaceful campsite then look no further!.

Our visit was so good that we didn't what to go home, and we felt like the owners and staff were friends,

they were always on call at any time for what ever problem we had, like when we had problems with our motor

mover so they pushed the van onto the pitch for us and helped to set us up,

and when we had a problem with our TV they came straight up and fixed it for us.

All the facilities were kept very clean, the play area is great for kids, the shop is well stocked, and the cooked food in the cafe is yummy,

the site is very flat which is great for anyone with walking difficulties, or kids on bikes.

The site is well maintained, dog friendly, safe, very attractive, quiet, set in woodlands with lovely walks and lots for wild life to see,

at night we could hear Owls hooting, and there was a lovely pond there that is so peaceful which is fed by a stream that flows through the site.

Every one of the staff always had a smile, to greet you with, and to share their extensive knowledge of the area with you if you needed it.

All in all, its the BEST IN THE WEST, go there and give it a try, you won't be disappointed

Mr M Thurman (September 24th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

We stopped at hidden valley and i must say the stay was very pleasant,toilet and shower block were very clean and tidy.Staff were very helpful and pleasent.Already reccommended to other friends and we will definately stop there again.

Christine Gayford (September 21st, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

clean site,friendly helpful staff.Great location on bus route and near bike trails.Restaurant good idea for breakfast.Stunning valley location and walks round site.Will be going again next year.

K Wagstaff (September 20th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

We spent 11 nights at Hidden Valley with our children aged 7 & 4. The site is very clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We felt it was very safe for the children, it would be our first choice if we were returning to north Devon.

Vickey Watts (September 20th, 2011)

rateraterate

We stayed at Hidden Valley this August for a few days. A pleasant site with polite and friendly staff, nice play areas for the children with basic, but adventurous equipment (great zip wires), and a lovely stream and woodland walk to explore. However the name implied the site would be quiet and peaceful, which the site was in terms of guests, but it was right by the road and the sound of the traffic was constant. We had a camper van with awning, and were given a pitch which was half grass, half gravel. We were instructed to erect the awning on the gravel which would have been difficult to put tent pegs in, and uncomfortable. We were told it was to avoid the grass being spoilt despite the pitch next to us having a tent erected directly on the grass. When we expressed our concerns we were then told to use the grass of the pitch next door instead, so whilst we ended up with a huge pitch, we still erected on the grass, so I don't really see why we couldn't have done that in the first place on our own pitch?? Anyway, the matter was dealt with politely and promptly. I probably wouldn't stay here longer than a few days, but it was a good stopping off point and easy to get to the surrounding places of interest.

Pete and Jenny (September 20th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

we have just spent a most enjoyable week [september 2011].Right from the booking in and personal guidance to our pitch,which after a fairly long journey was most welcome, to leaving the service from the friendly and helpful staff was superb. The site is well run with clean facilities. The premier pitches well worth the extra cost. The location very convenient with buses right outside. All buses allow dogs so with a motor home this meant we could still get around and not worry about moving .There is also a bus that allows bikes to travel- handy for the Tarka Trail.A big thankyou we will return !!

L Ward (August 23rd, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

First impressions on arrival were very impressive, the grounds are beautifully kept and create a stunning backdrop. Our first night was not the best due to the above acceptable level of road noise, however on speaking to the manager, we were moved without any fuss to another pitch where we enjoyed the rest of our holiday. It really is a stunning site, and very well managed.

ALAN & SAM KENNETT (August 23rd, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

Stayed front half of August 2011, What an excellent site, staff always friendly and polite,beautiful area and extremely quiet,so much to do close by, we will be returning in April next year, our 6 year old loved the top play area especially the zip wire, a Bar-B-Que was held by the staff as a meet and greet the staff, Excellent idea as it was our last night we did'nt have to cook....Brilliant, out of 10 for the site we give you 11.

Irene Keal (August 22nd, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

Lovely sheltered site with excellent facilities. Staff very helpful & friendly and a good well stocked shop.

Pitches kept immaculate.

Well located for all local areas, Ebrington Arms pub is a must and you can take the dog, and it has a fab games room for the children.

Will be returning to this site another year, it is a little more expensive than other sites but the facilites are well worth it and the staff are very committed into keeping the site immaculate.

Downes Family (August 22nd, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

We have just spent 10 very enjoyable days at hidden park, immaculate, helpful,and certainly hidden away!! Staff extremly helpful, thanx again

Sylvie Baduel-Butler (August 21st, 2011)

raterateraterate

We had 3 excellent days at Hidden Valley. The facilities are excellent and the wardens very helpful and friendly. The site is extremely clean and well organised. Thanks for putting a plug in ladies shower area for use of own hairdryer and straighteners. Also very handy to have water and electric hook up so close to the tent. The pitches are nice and flat. The only down side to this campsite which unfortunately the campsite owners can't help is the noise of the traffic. Otherwise top marks place. Many thanks.

Devon Camper's (April 27th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

Saw this website whilst staying at Hidden Valley so wanted to use it to add a review for this great campsite.

Had a great Easter Weekend with the children. Easter egg hunt was great fun through the woods.

Love the shower block and so much room on the pitches.

Weather was wonderful and beaches were great. Will be back thank you :)

Angelo & Francesca Pompeo (April 27th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

What a wonderful site. Very pleasant and friendly staff made the stay all the more worthwhile, whilst enjoying the great amenities at Hidden Valley. We will be going back again soon.

Campsite Finder Online (April 25th, 2011)

rateraterateraterate

Campsite Finder Online’s Nina and Wayne Stayed at Hidden Valley Park for this Bank Holiday. What can I say --- it is a stunning park with friendly helpful staff. The park is clean and very well run. Excellent Woodland Walks and whilst we were there they put on a great Easter Egg hunt for the kids and adults. The park has top fields where there are Seasonal Pitches, RV, Motorhome and Caravan hard standing pitches. At the lower fields there are the camping pitches. All have electric hook up and water and TV connection. There are 2 play parks for the kids the main one having a zip wire and a great choice of slides and climbing frames. Dogs are welcome at Hidden Valley and the woodland walks are a great place to exercise your dog. There is a small site shop that is reasonably priced and a coffee shop where you can pick up internet connection (Wifi). The facilities are great on both the top fields and the lower camping meadow The top area has a Bathroom and an under floor heated shower/toilet block. The beaches close by are Croyde, Woolacombe be aware both of these have a dog ban from May - Sept. If you’re looking for a dog friendly beach then Saunton Sands which is about 4 miles away is a great choice. For the disabled who enjoy the beach Saunton Sands have a Beach Buggy Wheelchair (landeez) that can be hired out for 1/2 day or a full day this is great for disabled children who are wanting to still play in the sand and the sea. The wheelchair also goes in the sea. www.landeez.com

Adele (February 11th, 2010)

raterateraterate

Loved this site such amazing views and very peaceful

Add Your Review

Have you stayed at Hidden Valley Park?

If so please add your review and share your experiences with other potential holidaymakers.

Video

Location Map

For street view drag and drop the 'gold man' on the closest blue road to the park entrance.

Directions

Get directions to Hidden Valley Park with Google.

Enter your postcode below then click the
Get Directions button.

Your Postcode: Get Directions

Awards

David Bellamy Conservation Awards - Gold
David Bellamy Conservation Awards - Gold

Holiday Ideas